Publicado el

Buster Keaton’s “Sherlock Jr.” (1924)

Sound and Vision in Film

When my Film History teacher told the class that we’d be watching a hilarious film from 1924, I rolled my eyes. Yeah, I’m sure it was funny 90 years ago, but our generation can’t laugh at silly humor like that anymore.

I mean, we’re way more sophisticated. Nothing’s funnier than an awkward teenager trying to lose their virginity, or a weatherman with an I.Q. of 49 stating that he’s pooped a squirrel. This generation’s idea of “funny” is way more advanced than a grown man slipping on a banana peel.

Right?

Not right. You would not believe how much I was impressed with this film. I cackled obnoxiously loud more times than I’d expected. In fact, I think this film is the very start of the awkward humor we find so hilarious in this day and age. Notice how Sherlock Jr. is doing everything his awkward self can to impress…

Ver la entrada original 106 palabras más

Acerca de MANON KUBLER BY MANON KUBLER

MANON KUBLER, ESCRITORA Y PERIODISTA EN RETIRADA. PREPARO MIS LLAGAS. EXPULSO MIS FUEGOS. TENGO HAMBRE Y VINE PARA QUEDARME. MANON KUBLER

Responder

