Publicado el

À bout de souffle – At breaths End – Breathless 52 years on.

Lisa Thatcher

I watched Breathless (again) last week.

I know – lucky lucky me.

Of course it inspired me to buy myself a New York Herald Tribune T-shirt. I vowed to only ever wear stripes again. I almost cut all my hair and went back to being a blonde – Almost.

So what is there to say about this brilliant, seminal work of the French New Wave that hasn’t been said before?  The first cry into the wilderness is that at Fifty two years down the track its as fresh and as alive as ever. Jean Seaberg, despite her prudish girlyness is still the girl we all want to be, with her free-spiritedness and her total devotion to herself.  And there just aint nothin’ cooler than Jean-Paul Belmondo and his casual fatalism  – the perfect bad boy – crushed in his wayward tracks by a love he has no shame in declaring. Unlike…

Ver la entrada original 2.143 palabras más

Acerca de MANON KUBLER BY MANON KUBLER

MANON KUBLER, ESCRITORA Y PERIODISTA EN RETIRADA. PREPARO MIS LLAGAS. EXPULSO MIS FUEGOS. TENGO HAMBRE Y VINE PARA QUEDARME. MANON KUBLER

Responder

